A little civility.

If you’ve paid even a bit of attention to my Facebook fawnings, you already know of my affection for the band The Civil Wars. I’m a bona fide music nut, no question, with a range of musical tastes that is only surpassed by my apparent Musical Attention Deficit Disorder, or MADD. No offense to the drunk driving moms.

It happens often… I’ll come across a new band or musician that, for a moment, just might be the best thing I’ve ever heard. Muscial perfection, I’d tell you. And then, like a junkie looking for his next fix, I move on to the next great thing. This has been my unapologetic routine for years now and I have the music library to prove it. Every once in a while, though, I come across a band or a performer that just “sticks,” for whatever reason. The Civil Wars is one such band.

The only problem is that when I find myself prattling on about The Civil Wars, as I tend to do, someone will inevitably ask me how I first heard about them. Then I have to admit that, while under the sort of television viewing duress that can only happen in marriage, I heard one of their songs on (the infernal) Grey’s Anatomy. Of course, I don’t remember anything about the particular episode — although I am sure Meredith’s weepiness was making me contemplate the benefits of carbon monoxide poisoning — but when I heard just a clip of “Poison & Wine,” I was hooked.


Chelli and I went to see the lovely duo live a few months back and I am happy to report that now she, too, is completely hooked. We already have tickets for their Columbus show this fall. While I love their recordings, seeing them live is something else entirely. They are two of the most engaging performers I’ve seen. Even though their music is often melancholy (my favorite kind), their delivery has the sort of charm that makes it all okay.


So humor me. Take a listen. Download their free live set, Live at Eddie’s Attic, on their website [http://www.thecivilwars.com/music.php] and see if you just might get a little hooked, too. At least you won’t have to tell somebody that you first heard about them on Grey’s Anatomy.

4 responses to “A little civility.

  1. Good blog. Haven’t heard the other songs, but I look forward to coming back and listening to the videos you posted. Good to know that they are coming to Columbus this fall. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Alright I must admit, before logging off curiosity killed the cat – being a music lover I couldn’t help but wonder what kind of a song, after hearing it, could have someone hooked? So I listened to Poison and Wine. Wow, wow, wow. What a powerful song, and I love the video.

    • Glad you liked them. Download their free live disk (on their website, at the link mentioned in my post) and see what you think of the rest. They also have a lot of great performances on YouTube. Good stuff, endless talent.

Leave a Reply

